Chevron Baby Blanket

Pattern

Chevron (zig zag) pattern created from Half-Square Triangles (HSTs) made from 36 6.5″ squares. HSTs were created from 18 6.5 ” squares of patterned fabric and 18 6.5″ squares of low-volume (LV) fabric. All patterned squares were paired with an LV square to make the 36 HSTs, according Palak Shah’s great instructions I used in my first ever blanket.

Materials

18 x 6.5″ squares of 2 different Liberty floral prints and matching geometric fabrics to create the chevron (zig zag)

Low Volume (LV) fabric used for the “background” of the chevron pattern was 18 x 6.5″ squares of Robert Kaufman White on White print

Watermelon-coloured Minky was used for the backing

505 Spray and Fix was used to baste the top and backing wrong-sides togther, to easily bind them together

Pink gingham 1″ bias binding was used for the binding

Hint and tips

I’m so thankful to the ladies at GJ’s Discount Fabrics who shared their experience of working with minky with me, which is so lovely and soft but so slippery. They recommended I baste the layers together with the 505 Spray and Fix to stop everything moving around as I bound the two sides together and that was a great suggestion.

This is definitely my most ambitious project thus far, and I don’t plan on sewing Liberty Tana Lawn with normal quilting cotton again any time soon (different textures didn’t play nice together).

I’ve also since discovered that there is a simpler way to bind than with double-fold bias binding, so I’ll try the easier method next time.

This was made for a friend’s new baby. The friend loves Liberty and she was very happy with this present, even though I personally wish my sewing was straighter in parts.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chevron Baby Blanket

Leave a Reply

